TUVALU, formerly the Ellice Islands, is a group of nine coral islands extending for 579 km (360 miles) in the Southwest Pacific Ocean. The country name roughly translates to “8 standing together” – refering to the eight traditional islands of Tuvalu.

The nine islands are: Funafuti, Nanumea, Nanumanga, Niulakita, Niuto, Nui, Nukufetau, Nukulailai and Vaitupu. All the islands are low lying with elevations no greater than 4.6 m (15 feet) above sea level. The population live on Tuvalu’s nine atolls, and the small island communities still lead a very traditional lifestyle.

The capital and largest town of Funafuti is located on the shore of a sheltered lagoon that has excellent access for large vessels and provides a safe anchorage and some shore facilities should they be required. Funafuti has an airport capable of taking large turboprop and some small jet aircraft.


Superyacht Services

Tuvalu Air Travel, Shipping,
Trading and Consultancies, Funafuti
T: +688 20611
F: +688 20612
Contact: Semu Ta afaki