Comoros Islands

THE COMORO ISLANDS are situated off the SE coast of Africa, to the east of Tanzania and NW of Madagascar. The country officially consists of the four islands in the volcanic Comoros archipelago: Ngazidja (French: Grande Comore), Mwali (Mohéli), Nzwani (Anjouan), and Mahoré (Mayotte), as well as many smaller islands. Formerly a French colony, the islands are now independent, except for Mayotte which remains an overseas territory of France and a naval base.

The youngest island is Grande Comore, and its volcano, Karthala, is still active, and has one of the largest craters in the world. The Islands are known for their fruit bats, Gecko lizards, Beaked Dolphins, Green Turtles, the Maki (lemur) and the perfume essenses of ylang-ylang, jasmin and orange. The main tourist attractions in the Comoros are the beaches which make for some tourists, to be very nice ecotourism attractions with their coral reef diving and deep-sea fishing, swimming and sun-bathing.

Superyacht Services

Mutsamudu (Anjouan)
Moroni (Grande Comore)
Contact the Port Captain (CH.16)
Since private yachts are rare, prior notice of arrival is advisable.
The yacht is usually boarded for clearance.
Provisioning: best on Mayotte.